A Gathering Of Delta PDP Election-Winners

Following the declaration din and later, the primaries that produced a Senator-turned-guber flag-bearer in Dr. Arthur Okowa for the ruling party, one has observed a massive coalescing of forces of unity within the rank and file of the great party poised for victory at the polls.
The PDP list of the campaign council at both the 25 local government council areas and at the state level for politicians of old and young breed, former guber aspirants for the state, Senatorial and House of Representatives top contenders, seems to have been brought together, on a massive scale, party faithful to do what they know how to do best – election winning in THE BIG HEART.
With this kind of political engineering by the UZOR-led state PDP whereby individual ambitions are subsumed on the platform of the party, is great credit to the leadership of the party as everyone has become a winner at the end of the day.
For a state (since 1999) that has been controlled by the PDP it was expected that despite the billboards on our highways by several guber contenders, they all now seem to have dissolved into one PDP pot and are prepared to cook the dividends for all Deltans to share-in when victory eventually comes at the polls.
A cursory glance at the committees had revealed that out of over 20 committees, the crucial committees, like Finance and Contact committees, are made up of Wall Street, Broad Street and global finance experts like Ken Okpara of the World Bank fame while the Contact Committee is made up of credible politicians who had paid their dues in their periodic contention for power at the ultimate level.
The Chairman of the Delta PDP Campaign Organization is the credible don in Professor Sam Oyovbaire, a former Minister of Information, under IBB and an erudite Professor of Political Science from Delta Central, with Chief Patrick Osakwe, a three- Term Senator of the Delta North as next to him and the Director-General in Dr. Joseph Otumara, a seasoned politician and current Commissioner for Health, from Delta South.
The Secretary of the organization is Chief Clement Ofuani, also a former guber contender for the PDP primaries and a solid chartered accountant who will help with getting the figures right; he is a former Commissioner for Economic Planning in Delta State before he had a stint at the Presidency with late Yar’Adua of presidential blessed memory.
The Operations and Security Services are manned by Rt. Hon. Festus Ovie Agas and Bashorun Askia Ogieh and co. The Communications Committee is under Rt. Hon. Chief Funkekeme Solomon and current Works Commissioner in Delta State.
Other Committees are led by Chief Nkem Okwuofu and Dr. Chris Oghenechovwen, Commissioner for Water Resources; Transport and Logistics Committee is led by my good friend, Chief Emman Ejiofor, the Onishe of Ubulu-Uku Kingdom. Planning and Research Committee is led by Hon. Tam Brisibe, a former House of Representatives member for Burutu. The Principal Secretary of the council is Dr. Kingsley Emu, a former Commissioner for Commerce and Industry while the Non-Indigenes and Focus Group is led by Festus Ochonogor. My co-S.A, Anwalu is in this committee as a member.
With the large array of the political champions across the state taking the PDP campaigns to the door steps of the people, it is difficult, if not impossible, for the PDP NOT to trounce its opponents in a resounding victory.
The whole structure of the PDP council is like the gathering of the five tribes of Delta voluntarily surrendering their ethnic egos for the common good of state – Igbos,Urhobos, Izons, Isokos and Itsekiris, agreeing to work in harmony for the good of the state, working for the flag-bearers in Dr. Okowa and Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan at the gubernatorial and presidential levels in 2015.
It is gratifying that individual politicians have agreed to sink their egos and work for the collective survival of the PDP, the party that has remained relevant in the past 16 years. We cannot afford to fail. Happy New Year and fruitful campaigns!