Delta Assembly Sets Up Adhoc C’ttee On DESOPADEC Amendment Bill

THE Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Monday Igbuya, has announced the setting up of a seven-man adhoc committee to scrutinise the DESOPADEC Law (Amendment) Bill following its second reading on the floor of the House.
Hon Dennis Omovie, Warri South 2 is the Chairman of the Committee, while Pat Ajudua, Oshimili North); Rueben Izeze, (Ughelli South); Oboro Preyor, (Bomadi); Sheriff Oboriowori, (Okpe); Alphonsus Ojo, (Ukwuani); and Godwin Abigor, (Warri South 1) are members.
The Speaker, who announced this during last Thursday’s plenary of the House, said the Directors of Legislative and Legal are to serve as secretaries to the ad hoc committee.
Hon Igbuya directs the committee to ensure all legislative processes on the amendment bill and to submit the report at the hallowed chamber when the House reconvenes in August.
The Majority Leader, Hon Tim Owhefere, in a motion which was unanimously adopted, moved for the adjournment of plenary to 6th August, 2015.
Owhefere, later in a telephone interview explained that the long adjournment is to allow the Select Committee time to constitute the standing committees of the House for effective legislative exercise in the sixth Assembly.
Hon Owhefere stated that the select committee which has the Speaker, Rt Hon Monday Igbuya as Chairman and eight others will use the period to undertake the onerous task in line with the policy direction of the state goverment.
He noted that the over one month adjournment will also enable members visit their various constituencies to further understudy their yearnings and aspirations and also keep them abreast of the thinking of the administration of Senator Ifeanyi Okowa and the people’s inputs in moving the state forward.