PDP Sweeps Delta LG Polls

THE Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, yesterday, won all the 23 Chairmanship positions in the 23 Local Government Areas in the last Saturday’s council elections.
Declaring the results as announced by the various Local Government Returning Officers, the Chairman, Delta State Independent Electoral Commission (DSIEC), Hon. (Barr.) Mike Ogbodu (CP. Rtd), said that two Local Government Areas where elections could not hold have been slated to hold tomorrow, Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 8:30am.
Ogbodu revealed that the two Local Governments where elections did not hold are Ughelli North and Ethiope East, adding that all stakeholders in the two Local Governments should be notified of the new date for their election.
In his words ,’pursuant to Section 46 Sub-Sections (2) and (3) of the Delta State Independent Electoral Commission Law, 2017 elections were held in all other electoral Wards and Constituencies in the State excepting Ughelli North and Ethiope East Local Government Council Areas where, in accordance with Section 33 (1) and (2) of the Delta State Independent Electoral Commission Law 2017, the elections are to be held on the 9th day of January 2018, haven been postponed from the 6th day of January, 2018’.
Ogbodu, however, stated that the result of Ika South Local Government Area has been received by the returning officer who was indisposed and could not be present to announce the result recorded, adding that Certificates of Return will be issued to Candidates tomorrow at 8:amThe DSIEC chairman noted that 59 Councilors were returned un-opposed across the state in various Electoral Wards, with PDP winning 424 Councilorship seats while the All Progressive Congress (APC) won only one councillorship seat in Aniocha North, Ward 2. In Otor-Owhe Ward 1 (DSIEC Ward 09) in Isoko North Local Government Area was yet to be declared due to an order of the High Court of Justice, Delta State sitting at Ibusa, Delta State.
Meanwhile, elected local government chairmen are to sworn in today, according to an official staement to this effect issued last night.
A text to this effect forwarded to The Pointer by the State Dirctor of Information and Functioning Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Information, Mr Paul Osahor, said the event will take place at Unity House, Government House, Asaba. The full text of the text sent to THe Pointer by Mr Osahor via the short message service (sms) of the global system of mobile communication (GSM), was originally signed by A. N. Tetsola, Chief of Protocol (COP), Government House, Asaba. It read thus;” Kindly be informed that His Excellency, the Governor,will preside over the swearing in ceremony of newly elected Chairmen of local government councils on Monday (8/1/18) at the Unity Hall, Government House, Asaba at 2pm. You are most respectfully invited to the cremony, please. A. N. Tetsola.”