DESIEC, Emergency Mgt Agency Bills Pass First Reading


TWO bills which seek the  establishment  of  Delta State Independent Electoral Commission amendment law 2006 and Delta State Emergency Management Agency,  yesterday passed through first reading in the state House of Assembly.

The bills  sent by Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan to the House, were  announced by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Victor Ochei and subsequently adopted,  following separate motions moved by the Deputy Majority Leader, Hon. Johnson Erijo and seconded by Hon. Efe Ofobruku  and Hon. Kenneth Daubry representing Uvwie and Burutu 11 constituencies respectively.

The House equally observed one minute silence for the demise of two prominent Deltans and foremost leaders  of the state that passed on two days ago.

They are: Orosue of Okere-Urhobo Warri Kingdom and former President-General of Urhobo Progress Union (UPU), HRM Benjamin Okumagba and a former member of the defunct Bendel State House of Assembly, Chief (Hon.) Emmanuel Urhobo.

The minute silence prayer as announced by the speaker followed a matter of personal explanation as announced by the member representing Warri South constituency 11, Hon. (Barr.) Dennis Omovie.